We first learned about this new policy in January this year, when the company announced it would share data between its two departments. Something which, while not affecting users in the European Union , has had a big impact around the world.
No canceled account, no limited functions
Things got even more complicated. While the story itself has had several route changes and turns before, it has even more. In a statement to TNW, the company said, “… we want to clarify that at this time we do not intend to limit the functionality of how WhatsApp works for those who have not yet accepted the update. ”
In an update to the company’s FAQ page, WhatsApp clarified that no user will have their account deleted or lose their functionality if they do not accept the new policies . On its support page, WhatsApp also claims that most of the users who saw the update have accepted it.