Paris-Tours was for years an autumn classic tailored to the sprinters, but since the step from the WorldTour and the inclusion of several gravel sections in the final, the peloton of the race changed considerably. From the Belgian side, classic riders such as Jasper Stuyven, Greg Van Avermaet, Sep Vanmarcke, Jasper Philipsen and Roubaix revelation Florian Vermeersch started this year.

Rune Herregodts, last year winner of the promise version of Paris-Tours, opted for the early break together with two others, but that was soon caught up when the peloton broke up into a few echelons 100 kilometers before the finish. The slopes and gravel roads between the vineyards provided an extra selection in the vicious final. Van Avermaet, Vermeersch and Dries De Bondt, among others, dropped out of the front of the race due to a flat tire. 

It was not fast enough for Frederik Frison, Stan Dewulf and Franck Bonnamour: they opted for the attack at the start of the last hour of competition. Bad luck for Frison: the Kempenaar was knocked away from the leading group deep in the final due to a flat tire on the last gravel strip. Jasper Stuyven and Arnaud Démare came from a chasing group to put pressure on them, but only managed to connect completely in the last straight line.

Nevertheless, Démare finished it off with a long sprint. After a mediocre season, the 30-year-old sprinter won ahead of Bonnamour, Stuyven and Dewulf. In the group sprint for fifth place, Arne Marit (seventh) and Amaury Capiot (tenth) took places of honour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *