The Oscar Prizes are the most important awards given in the film environment, positioning their winners in an important sector of the film industry. As we know, most of these statuettes do not leave the borders of the United States for obvious reasons, so it is difficult for other nations to take their place in this event.

Mexico is one of the countries that triumphed the most during the ceremony , in different sectors, and here we present to you the people who have marked history. AND This year they will be represented by Carlos Cortés, Jaime Baksht and Michelle Couttolenc , who are nominated for Best Sound for Sound of Metal and will seek to make the following list. Don’t miss it!

+ All Mexican Oscar winners:

– Alfonso Cuaron : winner of the best director award in 2014 for Gravity and best director, best photography and best foreign film for Rome in 2019.

– Guillermo del Toro: Awarded in 2018 as best director and best film for La Forma del Agua.

– Alejandro González Iñárritu: Best film, best director and best original screenplay in 2015 for Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance) and in 2016 he won the statuette for best director for The Revenant. In 2017, he also won a special Oscar for the VR project “Carne y arena”.

– Lupita Nyong’o: So far, she is the only Mexican actress to have won an award. She did so in 2013 as Best Supporting Actress for 12 Years of Slave.

– Mastache Cruz Antonio Contreras: Was part of the animator group of Spider-Man: A New Universe of 2018, which was awarded as the best animated film.

– Anthony Quinn: winner of two Academy Awards for Best Supporting Actor for Viva Zapata! in 1952 and by Lust for Life in 1956.

– Emile Kuri: Best production design in 1949 for The Heiress and in 1954 triumphant for Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea.

– Eugenio Caballero: winner of the best production design for Pan’s Labyrinth, directed by Guillermo del Toro in 2006.

– Emmanuel Lubezki: three-time Oscar winner for best photography. In 2014 he did it with Gravity, in 2015 with Birdman and in 2016 with El Renacido.

– Guillermo Navarro: he won the statuette in 2006 for best photography for Pan’s Labyrinth.

– Manuel Arango: in 1971, he won the award for best documentary short and best short film for Centinelas del silencio, the only time the same production won both categories.

– Béatrice De Alba: winner of the best make-up in 2002 for Frida.

– Gonzalo Gaviria: he was part of the winning team for best sound in 1974 for The Exorcist.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.